Act of faith

When I spot a lamp next to the dumpster, or a plant stand left by the curb, or a jacket for sale at a thrift store, I have a decision to make. Because the world is full of good deals and free stuff. Will this item enrich my life or clog living space and storage areas? I’m actually imagining myself in the future with (or without) the item. How does it look?

I assert that acquiring something is an act of faith. There is effort or expense involved in grabbing, hauling, refurbishing, installing. I’m investing part of myself with the hope of a brighter future. If I do not have this hope and take the item anyway, I’m acting in bad faith toward my future (and the futures of  those left to clean up after me!)

Nobody’s perfect. We all have exercised our faith toward an item’s future usefulness only to find we have wasted the effort of carrying it around for a week, a year–or ten. Not that we should beat ourselves up about that. Spotting a diamond in the dumpster, polishing it up, and finding just the right use for it is a happy pursuit. Stay happy during the process. You’ll make good decisions and get better an better at it.

The whole process makes me “heady” which probably means I’m not in my head at all. So my advice is to trust your intuition. How does considering the item make you feel? Be aware of being drawn toward it, or, notice if your attention quickly goes somewhere else. Can you visualize it in a bright future or do you sense dullness. How do you feel when you touch it?

Sure, there’s brain power involved but–in many ways–we suspend logic. Would logic justify being surrounded by this many beautiful things? Would it be logical to have this much fun!

A planter/bookcase (drybrushed blue, the top compartment lined with plastic) transformed into perfect, compact storage for and access to all my sheet music. But I didn’t know what I would use it for when I found it next to my complex’s dumpster–I was just drawn to it’s shape and size. IMAG0618

These chrome office chairs (well-worn boring gray) were $4 each at the local DI. $20 of reupholstery materials (I’ll describe my invention for seat foam in a later post) and a few hours of my own stapling made them better than new!IMAG0619

I found this one-of-a-kind vintage suit, hardly used, at DI for $25. It had been custom made in the 1960s for someone of a different body type but I put the expense of having it professionally altered toward the impact of being dressed like the guy who accompanied Jackie Kennedy to Paris!

IMAG0620

Find what’s yours, truly, danscir52

copyright 2013 Dan Christensen all rights reserved

About danscir52

Create! Join in the passion of found art and eclecticism. See the potential in free stuff, thrift store finds, spoils from family treasure and your own evolution. Self-style, design your environment as you reuse, recombine, refurbish, reinvent. Here's a key to sources I might mention: gift from Heaven=the item presents itself when you know to ask for it or when the universe clearing house knows you are about to need it (everything below is a subset of the above); dumpster or curbside=somewhat informal community exchange; DI=Deseret Industries, a church-run, all-items-donated thrift store and sheltered workshop; NPS=National Product Sales aka Market Square, a store whose merchandise comes from trucking and other companies dealing in odd lots and undeliverables; ReStore (Habitat for Humanity)=a thrift store offering donated salvaged and unused materials from remodelings or new construction projects; all the other thrift, discount, and consignment shops waiting for you to find what's yours--and add the love!

Leave a Reply

